Avenue of the Giants Half Marathon – May 3, 2015

A couple of runners from my local running group headed down sown to the Redwoods to run the Avenue of the Giants half marathon (one of our group rocked the full marathon!)

Unfortunately with a meeting scheduled at work on Friday that I couldn’t miss, Michael and I weren’t able to get on the road until Saturday. It was a beautiful day and a pretty easy drive (easy for me as the passenger!), but it was still an 8 hour drive, which makes for a long day!

We got there right in time to join the group (who had all left at least a day earlier) for dinner. We were staying at the Miranda Gardens Resort which was super cute. There are a bunch of little cottages. For dinner we just walked across the street to the one restaurant in the area. It was ok, but none of us were particularly wowed by the food.

We hung out for a bit afterwards, but then headed to bed to get rest for the next day.

I didn’t really have any expectations for the race, other than to have fun and run it with my friends. That was achieved, although I have to say afterwards I felt worse than I’ve ever felt after a race in a long time. My body just ached and I was very frustrated with how difficult the run was for me.  We didn’t push ourselves either, so there was no reason why I should have been struggling so much.  I guess it just wasn’t my day….I suppose we all have those.

IMG_7671

Unfortunately, this race was a week after I found out that I won the lottery and would be running the Chicago Marathon in October! Not exactly how I wanted to start of my training for that.  IMG_7674 IMG_7672  finisher

Leave a Reply

