Yuengling Lager Jogger 5k – April 11, 2015

Yes, I flew across the country for the Yuengling Lager Jogger 5k. Totally worth it! It was a perfect combination of a great race (with Yuengling and pierogies at the finish) and quality time with the family (aunts, uncles, cousins, grandmother, mom, dad, brother, sister-in-law, nephews).  I’m sure most people on the east coast who can get Yuengling whenever they want don’t understand why it’s such a big deal….but it’s really a nostalgic thing for me. You know, you want what you can’t have! And we can’t get Yuengling in Oregon 😦

10984569_10153188180005915_8788775866823131361_n1609590_10153188198480915_85806275242660143_n

We couldn’t have asked for a nicer day for the run. The sun was out. Although at the finish line it was a bit cold. The course was pretty hilly…..but knowing that it was in Pottsville, that was to be expected!  The crowd was great. A bunch of people were in costume….there was even a guy that was in a full spartan outfit made out of Yuengling beer cases! There were also a group of guys that were running with a log! True “logger joggers!”

After the race and getting my pierogies and beer, as we were walking around, I heard a girl in the crowd shout out, “Is that NoPo from Portland?” I was wearing my NoPo shirt. Turns out the girl was helping organize the Ecliptic Beer Mile that was happening in May and that our run club had done a “test run” for a few weeks earlier! Talk about a small world.

IMG_7574

After the race, my dad picked us up and we headed back to my parent’s home town where I saw my grandmother and my cousin’s kids and had dinner (and dessert!) at my dad’s cousins new café. The next day we stopped back in for breakfast and then started to make the way home (well back to their home, not mine yet!)

So once we got back to Virgina, the fun wasn’t over! We pulled into our driveway, unloaded the car, and then my mom and I were off to go visit one of my best friends from high school and see her adorable daughter who had gotten so much bigger (and even cuter!) since I last saw her back in October.  then we headed to my brother’s house where we had fun with my nephews and stayed for dinner, and sang happy birthday to Lucas who had just turned 1!

Leave a Reply

