Wow…..it’s been a while

So I realized that I haven’t posted anything in forever, and I am WAY behind in posting recaps from a ton of races.  I’m not sure when I’ll get around to doing that, so I figured I would just start from now, and try to keep up with things. And then….if I can find the time, I’ll go back and post at least a brief recap of the past races and running adventures!

But the most recent adventure….running in Iraq. Yes, Iraq. I’ve been here for just about 2 weeks now, and have one more to go. So far I’ve  been able to squeeze in two runs. Unfortunately, both were very boring runs. Given the security situation, we’re not really allowed to just go out and run wherever we want.  So, my two runs were both running “laps” around the apartment complex where I’m staying. Each lap is about 1k.  Today I was able to manage 5k.  It wasn’t so much that I was tired or my legs couldn’t take it….it was more that it was just so boring. And with it being such a short loop I never felt like I was able to get into a groove. Oh well. But….it’s better than nothing!  Especially since I have 3 half marathons coming up in the next two months (so much for my New Year resolution of not signing up for a lot of races this year!  In the past week I’ve signed up for 3 new ones! Oops).

Here are some pictures of the route here in Iraq.

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

